Halal and Kosher, How are they Different?BlogHalal and Kosher, How are they Different?

Halal and Kosher, How are they Different?

Halal and Kosher, How are they Different?

Corporate Secretary Service Indonesia – Between halal and kosher, is it the same? Many are still confused and doubtful about this. Some even consider it the same. So Kosher certified products, even without a Halal certificate are considered to have fulfilled halal. Don’t get it wrong! Halal and Kosher Certification are clearly different.

The word kosher in the English-Indonesian dictionary (John M Echols and Hassan Shadily, 1988) is translated as “halal”, with the example of kosher meat as “halal meat”. This translation does not match the true meaning of kosher. In Webster’s World University Dictionary, it is mentioned that kosher or kashrut/kasher as ceremonially clean; conforming to Jewish dietary law. Kosher is a Jewish term that according to Talmudic law later became Jewish religious law.

From a Jewish perspective, foods and animals that can be eaten are called kosher, kashrut, or kasher. The opposite, which should not be eaten, is called trefa or trayfah. At first glance, both terms are similar to halal and haram for Muslims. In fact, there are similarities between the two terms. Kosher does not require the presence of pork in food and drink. In addition, animals (cows, goats, sheep, etc.) must be slaughtered using a sharp knife and must not be killed by beating, twisting, or being pounced on by wild animals.

Because of the similarity in the meaning of the two terms, Jews promote kosher food as halal food for Muslims. Since there is already a kosher certificate, there is no need for a halal certificate for the product. This notion was then campaigned and disseminated throughout the world. In the United States, kosher food consumers far outnumber Orthodox Jewish consumers, who want kosher food. This is because Muslims and Adventist Christians are also consumers of kosher food.

With these numbers, Jews are trying to introduce kosher food to all corners of the world, with Muslims as the main target. Thus, the bargaining position of kosher certification is increasing in the eyes of food producers. In fact, the world’s Jewish population in 1967 was only 12 million, while Muslims at that time had reached 700 million. Now the Muslim world is approaching 1.5 billion people. Jews want Muslims to eat kosher foods, but they themselves do not want to eat halal foods. They also want to popularize the term kosher in international trade.

Read Also: Illegal Drug Sales are Increasingly Widespread, How is the Drug Distribution License?

Not Similar and Not the Same

Although there are similarities between halal and kosher, they are actually different. There are forbidden items that fall under the kosher category, while there are also kosher foods that fall under the treyfah category. Examples of foods and beverages that fall under the kosher category but are not kosher are wine. Also all types of gelatin (regardless of what animal bone or skin it is made from) and all types of cheese (regardless of how and how it is made).

Kosher meat, even though it comes from a kosher animal, does not mention the name of God (Jehovah Elohim) because they believe that it is inappropriate to mention the name of the Holy God in a dirty place (slaughterhouse). This distinction has far-reaching implications in the context of halal food. Products containing gelatin may be considered kosher food. Likewise, alcohol-containing beverages such as wine, which are clearly forbidden by Islamic teachings, are still allowed in certain amounts among Jews.

On the other hand, there are also foods that are halal and thayib according to Islam, but not kosher according to Judaism. Examples are rabbits, wild fowl, fish without fins or scales, shellfish, and it is not permissible to eat meat with milk unless the meals are separate. In addition, certain cuts of meat, even from kosher animals, are also considered not kosher.

Don’t worry about developing your business by setting up a company in Indonesia, because Portcorp is here as a solution for your business, also when you need Kosher Certification. Portcorp is your comprehensive corporate secretary service in Indonesia. With our presence, you can get a dedicated company secretary to support you to what you need. Our company secretaries will track deadlines and file paperwork so your business keeps running smoothly. Contact us now on +6221-5020-8090 for your business succeed in the future!



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *